SydLexia.com Forum Index
"Stay awhile. Stay... FOREVER!"

  [Edit Profile]  [Search]  [Memberlist]  [Usergroups]  [FAQ]  [Register]
[Who's Online]  [Log in to check your private messages]  [Log in]
Please to help with MTG?


Reply to topic
Author Message
lordsathien
Title: Head of Lexian R&D
Joined: Oct 15 2005
Location: Metro area, Georgia
PostPosted: Aug 22 2010 10:46 am Reply with quote Back to top

Ah, thanks muchly for the that info.


"Life is a waste of time. Time is a waste of life. Get wasted all the time, and you'll have the time of your life!"
 
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
Dr. Jeebus
Moderator
Title: SLF Harbinger of Death
Joined: Sep 03 2005
Location: Wakefield, MA
PostPosted: Aug 23 2010 04:27 am Reply with quote Back to top

The biggest changes to the rules are undoing many of the rules made with 6th edition.


dr.jeebus.sydlexia.com - Updated sometimes, but on hiatus!
UsaSatsui wrote:
The three greatest heels in history...Andy Kaufman, Triple H, and Dr. Jeebus

 
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
lordsathien
Title: Head of Lexian R&D
Joined: Oct 15 2005
Location: Metro area, Georgia
PostPosted: Aug 23 2010 06:42 am Reply with quote Back to top

Dr. Jeebus wrote:
The biggest changes to the rules are undoing many of the rules made with 6th edition.

So I see, that combat damage stuff is going to take some time to relearn. I'm not happy with the whole token ownership rules (for stuff like Varchild's War-Riders with Brand).


"Life is a waste of time. Time is a waste of life. Get wasted all the time, and you'll have the time of your life!"
 
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
lordsathien
Title: Head of Lexian R&D
Joined: Oct 15 2005
Location: Metro area, Georgia
PostPosted: Jun 22 2011 03:03 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Bumping because this was the closest I could find to a rules question thread.

If I have Bludgeon Brawl and Liquimetal Coating in play, can I use the Coating on Auras to shift what they're on? Or is it perfectly legal to enchant one creature while being equipped to another?


"Life is a waste of time. Time is a waste of life. Get wasted all the time, and you'll have the time of your life!"
 
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
UsaSatsui
Title: The Ultimate Life Form
Joined: May 25 2008
Location: The Couch
PostPosted: Jun 22 2011 03:24 pm Reply with quote Back to top

The targeted aura will be an Aura Equiment with an equip cost, and then you can use the Equip ability to attach it to another creature. The whole permanent moves, it can't be attached to two things.
View user's profileSend private message
lordsathien
Title: Head of Lexian R&D
Joined: Oct 15 2005
Location: Metro area, Georgia
PostPosted: Jun 23 2011 09:40 am Reply with quote Back to top

UsaSatsui wrote:
The targeted aura will be an Aura Equiment with an equip cost, and then you can use the Equip ability to attach it to another creature. The whole permanent moves, it can't be attached to two things.

Alright, now for the more important reason as to why I should do this:
Say I use the Coating to turn my Giant Strength into an Artifact Enchantment - Aura Equipment. Then I pay 2 to equip the Giant Strength to my Goblin Gaveleer.
My question is, is the Goblin:
5/1 (+2/+0 ability for being equipped, with another +2/+0 for the Brawl's effect on the Strength)
or 7/3 (as above, plus the normal benefits from being enchanted by Giant Strength).


"Life is a waste of time. Time is a waste of life. Get wasted all the time, and you'll have the time of your life!"
 
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
UsaSatsui
Title: The Ultimate Life Form
Joined: May 25 2008
Location: The Couch
PostPosted: Jun 23 2011 11:18 am Reply with quote Back to top

It will be 7/3, at least until the Liqumetal Coating wears off.
View user's profileSend private message
Black Zarak
Title: Big Coffin Hunter
Joined: Feb 01 2006
Location: Phyrexia
PostPosted: Jun 23 2011 09:12 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Semi-related: I think I'm entering another Magic dormant stage. I've got no one to play with, not a lot of money to spend on it and I find Commander and 2012 semi-silly. I have nothing against EDH as a format, but I've always felt that a big part of what drives Magic is the story. These days, you see less of it, but it's still there and still important. Commander is just "Here are some awesome multiplayer themed cards, slap on some bullshit names and a few cross quotes by the same brand-new characters and let's call it a day."


Image
REVIEWS, LEGOS, NONSENSE Check out Zarak's Barracks!

"Let that be a lesson to you, your family and everyone you've ever known..."

"Thanks to denial, I'm immortal!"
 
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Syd Lexia
Site Admin
Title: Pop Culture Junkie
Joined: Jul 30 2005
Location: Wakefield, MA
PostPosted: Jun 25 2011 07:17 am Reply with quote Back to top

I feel like Claws of Valakut would be a better option than Giant Strength. Or Shiv's Embrace.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteAIM Address
lordsathien
Title: Head of Lexian R&D
Joined: Oct 15 2005
Location: Metro area, Georgia
PostPosted: Jun 25 2011 05:53 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Syd Lexia wrote:
I feel like Claws of Valakut would be a better option than Giant Strength. Or Shiv's Embrace.

Agreed, it was just the first red aura that came to mind for the example.


"Life is a waste of time. Time is a waste of life. Get wasted all the time, and you'll have the time of your life!"
 
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
lordsathien
Title: Head of Lexian R&D
Joined: Oct 15 2005
Location: Metro area, Georgia
PostPosted: Jun 30 2011 03:06 am Reply with quote Back to top

Okay, in Commander/EDH, if I want to put a card with hybrid mana into my deck, but my General only shares one of the hybrid colors, can I use the card?
Example, can I put a Debtor's Knell in my deck if I'm using Szadek, Lord of Secrets as my General?


"Life is a waste of time. Time is a waste of life. Get wasted all the time, and you'll have the time of your life!"
 
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
Dr. Jeebus
Moderator
Title: SLF Harbinger of Death
Joined: Sep 03 2005
Location: Wakefield, MA
PostPosted: Jun 30 2011 04:03 am Reply with quote Back to top

You may not. There are white mana symbols on the card.


dr.jeebus.sydlexia.com - Updated sometimes, but on hiatus!
UsaSatsui wrote:
The three greatest heels in history...Andy Kaufman, Triple H, and Dr. Jeebus

 
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
lordsathien
Title: Head of Lexian R&D
Joined: Oct 15 2005
Location: Metro area, Georgia
PostPosted: Jun 30 2011 04:17 am Reply with quote Back to top

Dr. Jeebus wrote:
You may not. There are white mana symbols on the card.

That's what I figured, just wanted a confirmation.


"Life is a waste of time. Time is a waste of life. Get wasted all the time, and you'll have the time of your life!"
 
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo Messenger
Syd Lexia
Site Admin
Title: Pop Culture Junkie
Joined: Jul 30 2005
Location: Wakefield, MA
PostPosted: Jun 30 2011 10:46 am Reply with quote Back to top

That's one of things I hate about EDH, not being able to use cards with hybrid or Phyrexian mana in my deck.

I think the rule should be that mana sources you control can only provide you with mana in your general's colors. So if you want to use something with hybrid mana, or if you have a card that has a non-mana cost, you can play those.

In fact, since Wizards pretty much stole EDH from the fans and gave it an incredibly takei new name, I suggest we launch NEDH (New Elder Dragon Highlander) with this modified set of rules.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteAIM Address
Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

 
 Jump to: