SydLexia.com Forum Index
"Stay awhile. Stay... FOREVER!"

[Edit Profile]  [Search]  [Memberlist]  [Usergroups]  [FAQ]  [Register]
[Who's Online]  [Log in to check your private messages]  [Log in]
Could hard rock ever make a comeback?

Reply to topic
OctoMan
PostPosted: Sep 19 2005 04:37 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Being a busy university student, I don't actually get to hear that much new music anymore, but I'm thinking that to a great extent I agree with this article:

Quote:
...rock is dead, you see. I'm sorry to be the one to break the news, but it's true...

...This realization was underscored for me when I read a recent Blogcritics thread wherein people in their 30s and 40s complained that their kids don't rock as hard as they do. These folks who grew up loving Metallica and the Clash and AC/DC and the Ramones and so forth are disappointed because their kids ask them to turn that music down, it's too loud! They also complain because the kids think stuff like Matchbox 20 is "hard rocking" and can't handle the power chords of some old-school Black Sabbath or Guns 'n' Roses. Why, these kids don't even know what real punk rock is all about! The Violent Femmes would kick Avril Levigne's ass!

I didn't have the heart to tell them that the kids today who want hard core, intense music don't listen to rock. The kids who want hard core listen to rap.

The kids who don't want hard core listen to fluffy, inoffensive pop. Some of it has rock overtones, or nods to rock sensibilities, like Fastball. But that's not really rock'n'roll, and barely pretends to be.

I think he's especially right about the rap thing - in the '80s, hard rock filled a void that today is filled by rap. What do you think?
Valdronius
Title: SydLexia COO
PostPosted: Sep 19 2005 08:27 pm Reply with quote Back to top