SydLexia.com Forum Index
"Stay awhile. Stay... FOREVER!"

[Edit Profile]  [Search]  [Memberlist]  [Usergroups]  [FAQ]  [Register]
[Who's Online]  [Log in to check your private messages]  [Log in]
Guitars, axes, the ol six-string twanger, etc.

Reply to topic
thenose_knows
PostPosted: Feb 02 2015 09:38 pm Reply with quote Back to top

(If this belongs in general discussion, I'm sure it'll be moved accordingly.)

I'd figure since some of this site's best entries are on heavy metal music, there may be a decent amount of guitar players around these parts. It's always great to hear stuff from other people who play at any level, the way I see it, so I'm interested to see what other people play, instrument-wise and music-wise, and how those two relate.

I started playing guitar at in 2012 at the age of 16, the summer before my senior year of high school (I think). I got real into the 80's around this time; I dressed like Sonny Crockett and listened to whatever New Wave I'd discover on Sirius XM. I'm not sure when, but at some point in this journey I discovered Eddie Van Halen. It was a fuckin' epiphany, man. As cliche as it is to say, it was like an alien came down from parts unknown. The first Van Halen record is still one of my favorites, and I proudly own VHII and Fair Warning on vinyl. "I'm the One" was my personal favorite. The rhythm on that main riff still blows my mind to this day. Shortly after that, I bought my first guitar: a Vintage White 1989 Squier Stratocaster from Japan.

It's the one on the right, next to my friend's mistreated six-stringers.